OBTAINING A CONCEALED WEAPON LICENSE

 

  • Concealed Weapon applications are obtained in our Drivers License office at the Sheriff's Office at 6438 Kootenai Street.

  • You need to bring in proof of firearms training when you submit the application. This could be a military I.D., certificate from a hunters' education or other firearms training class such as the one given by the Sheriff's Office.

  • You must be fingerprinted when you apply.

 

Processing of the application and background check takes about 90 days.

 

Fees:

  • For the initial application processing / background check, $62.45 to be paid when application is submitted.

  • Fingerprints will be taken by Detention Staff on below dates and times.

 

Renewals

 

Licenses are valid for five years. To renew your license, you must come in 30 days prior to the expiration date.

 

Renewal fees:

  • The background check / license fee is $37.70 which is to be paid when application is submitted.

  • Late fee of $10.00 if license is expired over 91 days and no more then 180 days.

  • Licenses expired over 181 days will require you to re-apply as an initial applicant.

 

 

*** Please note: the applications CAN NOT be submitted online.  You MUST apply in person at our Driver's License Office located at 6438 Kootenai St., Bonners Ferry  

 

 

 

*************** FINGERPRINTS ***************

Are done on WEDNESDAY & THURSDAY from 9 a.m to 11 a.m and SATURDAYS from 9 a.m. to 11 am and 1 p.m. to 3 p.m.   

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

ENHANCED APPLICATIONS:

Effective July 1, 2013, a new “Enhanced” Concealed Weapons Permit became available.  Applicants will have to meet the following requirements

 

  • Provide a  training certificate approved by Idaho State Police that shows you have attended  eight (8) hours of classroom instruction and have also fired a minimum of ninety-eight (98) rounds.    The training must have been within the prior twelve (12) months of the application date

 

  • Provide completed and signed training Certificate of Completion  

 

  • Must be a resident of the state of Idaho for at least six months and must apply in the county in which you reside.  Non-residents of Idaho may also apply, but they will need to have a current concealed weapons permit from their resident state.

 

  • Must submit fingerprints with the initial application.

 

  • The fee is $62.45 for the initial application. 

 

  • The new permit is not an upgrade to any existing CCW permit and will be issued separately.

 

 

Enhanced Qualifying Handgun Requirements 

 

 

States are constantly changing their laws and regulations. If you plan to travel it is your responsibility to call the States you are going to be traveling in and make sure you can carry a weapon in the State.

 

 

The above website is a also a good resource for information: www.USACARRY.com

 

  • Initial Application ..............................................$62.45

 

  • Renewals ............................................................$37.70

 

  • Late Fee ..............................................................$10.00

 

  • Duplicate License.................................................$5.00

 

 

 

                                     (permits are valid for 5 years from date of issue)

 

 

Retired Law Enforcement Permits

 

 

  • Retired Law Enforcement (new)....................$22.70

 

  • Retired Law Enforcement (renewal)..............$14.70

 

 

(Retired Law Enforcement permits are valid for 1 yr)

 

 

***** ALL FEES ARE REQUIRED TO BE PAID IN FULL WITH SUBMISSION OF APPLICATION *********

 

 

 

EXACT AMOUNT IN CASH OR CHECK ONLY

 

 

 

FOR INFORMATION ON IDAHO'S PERMITLESS CARRY REQUIREMENTS